EN FR
The words of the click Shop
MENU

TELL THEM ABOUT BATTLES, METEORS AND EGGPLANT CAVIAR

7 Ukrainian photographers

  • Exhibition

13.05 - 17.09.2022

  • Strasbourg

Meat, Fish and Eggplant Caviar © Alex Blanco

FREE ENTRY

FROM WEDNESDAY TO SATURDAY

14 p.m. - 18:30 p.m.

PRESS RELEASE

Exhibition produced as part of of the support program for Ukraine piloted by the Diagonal network with the support of the Ministry of Culture and the French Institute

With the support of the DRAC Grand Est, the Grand Est Region, the City and Eurometropolis of Strasbourg

With the support by Odesa Photo Days

in collaboration with The Carré d'Art, Pôle Sud Cultural Center (Chartres-de-Bretagne) and the Claude Cahun Center (Nantes)

Alex Blanco, Maxim Dondyuk, Yana Kononova, Olga Kukush, Oksana Nevmerzhytska, Elena Subach, Daria Svertilova.

The artists tell of the paper parrots hung by the young people on the walls of the collective habitats of kyiv. They also tell about pregnancy and the loneliness of women. Hospitals that could melt like sugar Jesuses. The recipe for eggplant caviar in Odessa. Garlic, pepper, some peppers. The meteorite that the inhabitants await, crucifix in hand, in Chervonohrad. Naked bodies – so long forbidden. They tell the night, the sea and finally the snow which will soon be covered by the poetry of Lao Tseu.

For several weeks, questions have been bothering us. What can we show of Ukrainian creation today? How do the artists view their previous series? How do these works resonate in a country at war? These questions were asked to the artists and accompany an exhibition of photographs taken before February 2022.

Celine Duval.

Series Meat, Fish and Eggplant Caviar © Alex Blanco / Series Meteorite Berdychiv © Elena Subach / Tempor Seriesary Homes © Daria Svertilova

Odesa Photo Days is an international festival of contemporary photography based in Ukraine as well as an educational platform. It brings Ukrainian photography to the forefront and creates links between artists, curators and researchers from different parts of the world: Eastern Europe, Western Europe, Central Asia, Northeast Asia, -United. The eighth edition of the festival was scheduled to take place in Odesa from May 19 to 22, 2022. Russia's military invasion of Ukraine, however, changed everything. On February 24, 2022, an all-out war started in Ukraine. From now on, Kateryna Radchenko, director and curator of Odesa Photo Days and the festival team are working to relay the situation in Ukraine throughout the world and to support documentary photographers and artist-photographers affected by the war. 

Opening, in the presence of Alex Blanco, Yana Kononova and Daria Svertilova, Friday 13.05.22 © Marc Meinau / Views of the exhibition © Daria Svertilova

Exhibition presented at Stimultania, Strasbourg, from May 13 to September 17, 2022, at Carré d'Art, Center culturel Pôle Sud, Chartres-de-Bretagne, from January 20 to March 4, 2023, and at Center Claude Cahun, Nantes, from May to June 2023.

As part of the European Heritage Days in Strasbourg and on the occasion of the Biennale Traces in Villeurbanne, Stimultania projected On war and home by Daria Svertilova, a compilation of testimonials from students who posed for the series Temporary Homes. The film is also available online here.

FOR FURTHER

EN FR
Les mots du clic Boutique
MENU

PARLE-LEUR DE BATAILLES, DE MÉTÉORES ET DE CAVIAR D’AUBERGINE

7 photographes ukrainiens

  • Exposition

13.05 - 17.09.2022

  • Strasbourg

Meat, Fish and Aubergine Caviar © Alex Blanco

ENTRÉE LIBRE
DU MERCREDI AU SAMEDI
14H – 18H30

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE

Exposition réalisée dans le cadre du programme de soutien à l’Ukraine piloté par le réseau Diagonal avec le soutien du ministère de la Culture et de l’Institut français

avec le soutien de la DRAC Grand Est, la Région Grand Est, la Ville et Eurométropole de Strasbourg

avec le soutien de Odesa Photo Days

en collaboration avec Le Carré d’Art, Centre culturel Pôle Sud (Chartres-de- Bretagne) et le Centre Claude Cahun (Nantes)

Alex Blanco, Maxim Dondyuk, Yana Kononova, Olga Kukush, Oksana Nevmerzhytska, Elena Subach, Daria Svertilova.

Les artistes racontent les perroquets de papier accrochés par les jeunes aux murs des habitats collectifs de Kiev. Ils racontent aussi la grossesse et la solitude des femmes. Les hôpitaux qui pourraient fondre comme des Jésus en sucre. La recette du caviar d’aubergine à Odessa. De l’ail, du poivre, quelques poivrons. La météorite que les habitants attendent, crucifix à la main, à Chervonohrad. Les corps nus – si longtemps interdits. Ils racontent la nuit, la mer et enfin la neige qui sera bientôt recouverte par la poésie de Lao Tseu.

Depuis plusieurs semaines, des questions nous taraudent. Que peut-on montrer de la création ukrainienne aujourd’hui ? Quel regard les artistes ont-ils sur leurs précédentes séries ? Comment ces œuvres résonnent-elles dans un pays en guerre ? Ces questions ont été posées aux artistes et accompagnent une exposition de photographies prises avant février 2022.

Série Meat, Fish and Aubergine Caviar © Alex Blanco / Série Meteorite Berdychiv © Elena Subach / Série Temporary Homes © Daria Svertilova

Odesa Photo Days est un festival international de photographie contemporaine basé en Ukraine ainsi qu’une plateforme pédagogique. Il porte sur le devant de la scène la photographie ukrainienne et crée du lien entre les artistes, commissaires et chercheurs de différentes parties du monde : Europe de l’Est, Europe de l’Ouest, Asie centrale, Asie du Nord-Est, États-Unis. La huitième édition du festival devait se dérouler à Odesa du 19 au 22 mai 2022. L’invasion militaire de la Russie en Ukraine, cependant, a tout changé. Le 24 février 2022, une guerre généralisée a débuté en Ukraine. Désormais, Kateryna Radchenko, directrice et commissaire de Odesa Photo Days et l’équipe du festival travaillent à relayer à travers le monde la situation en Ukraine et à soutenir les photographes documentaires et les artistes-photographes touchés par la guerre. 

Vernissage, en présence de Alex Blanco, Yana Kononova et Daria Svertilova, vendredi 13.05.22 © Marc Meinau / Vues de l’exposition © Daria Svertilova

Exposition présentée à Stimultania, Strasbourg, du 13 mai au 17 septembre 2022, au Carré d’Art, Centre culturel Pôle Sud, Chartres-deBretagne, du 20 janvier au 4 mars 2023, et au Centre Claude Cahun, Nantes, de mai à juin 2023.

POUR ALLER PLUS LOIN